|9.6 SAFETY SHOT (8-BALL RULE)|
On any shot after the break, for tactical reasons, a shooter may choose to pocket a "called" object ball into its proper pocket and also discontinue his turn at the table by declaring "safety" in advance. A safety shot is defined as a legal shot. If the shooter intends to play a safety by pocketing a "called" object ball into its proper pocket, then prior to the shot, he must declare a "safety", verbally, to his opponent. If this is NOT done, and one of the shooter's object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again. Any ball pocketed on a safety shot remains pocketed. Calling a safety on the first shot after the break is legal; however, the table continues to remain open for the incoming shooter.