1.16 PLAYING THE 8-BALL (8-BALL RULE)

When shooting at the 8-ball

  1. A scratch or foul is NOT loss of game if the 8-ball is NOT pocketed. The incoming shooter has cue ball in hand.
  2. A scratch or foul is a loss of game, if the 8-ball is pocketed or knocked off the table.
  3. Pocketing the 8-ball in any pocket other than the designated pocket is a loss of game.
  4. A combination or billiard shot is perfectly legal as long as the 8-ball is hit first. The 8-ball can carom off of any number of balls and still be legally pocketed as long as the 8-ball is pocketed in the designated pocket by the shooter and the 8-ball is contacted first.